# 13<sup>th</sup> International Workshop on Advances in Electrocorticography

Thursday, Nov. 30, 2017 in Washington, DC, USA

Organized by: Anthony Ritaccio, MD, Gerwin Schalk, PhD, Christoph Guger, PhD

Venue:

Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center 900 10th Street NW, Washington, DC, 20001, USA

In conjunction with:







Wadsworth Center



Supported by:



# Workshop Schedule

8:00-8:15 AM Welcome and Introduction Anthony Ritaccio, MD, and Christoph Kapeller, PhD

8:15-9:00 AM The history of functional mapping and brain stimulation Ronald Lesser, MD, Professor of Neurology Johns Hopkins University, USA

#### 9:30-10:15 AM

Scientific and engineering principles of functional ECoG mapping Christoph Kapeller, PhD, Guger Technologies OG, Austria

# 10:45-11:30 AM

Passive ECoG mapping in the epilepsy monitoring unit Anthony Ritaccio, MD, Director of Epilepsy and Human Brain Mapping Program, Albany Medical College, USA

# 12:00-12:45 PM

Adaptive neuromodulation in epilepsy and other disorders Kai Miller, MD, PhD, Neurosurgery Residency Stanford School of Medicine, Stanford Hospital & Clinics, USA

12:45-1:45 PM Lunch

#### 1:45-2:30 PM

# Improving ECoG mapping accuracy: Cortical stimulation-guided deep learning approach

Milena Korostenskaja, PhD, Neuroscientist and Head of Functional Brain Mapping and BCI Lab, Florida Hospital for Children, Orlando, USA

# 3:00-3:45 PM

# Passive mapping and network analysis with ECoG

Kyousuke Kamada, MD, PhD, Professor and Chairman of the Department of Neurosurgery, Asahikawa Medical University, Japan

#### 4:15-5:00 PM

ECoG based pediatric mapping – The evolution of signals Jeffrey Ojemann, MD, Director of Epilepsy Surgery, Division Chief of Neurosurgery, Seattle Children's Hospital, USA

# 5:30-6:15 PM

# Chronic intracranial EEG monitoring and responsive neurostimulation

Lawrence Hirsch, MD, Professor of Neurology, Co-Director of Comprehensive Epilepsy Center, Yale University School of Medicine, USA

#### 6:15 -6:30 PM

**Closing Remarks and Discussion** 

Anthony Ritaccio, MD and Christoph Kapeller, PhD